Skip to main content

2023 edition

Selection committee

For each edition of the Prize, the Board of the Foundation relies on a group of four selectors chosen from among the most authoritative experts in the critical and editorial fields of the Italian contemporary art scene. They will be asked to identify 12 unpublished projects by as many Italian artists or collectives, and will subsequently participate in the jury together with the representatives of the Foundation and the partner institutions of the Prize — one for each body. For the 2023 edition they are Caterina Avataneo, Lorenzo Gigotti, Elisa Medde e Valentina Tanni.


The jury includes the members of the selection committee – Caterina Avataneo, Lorenzo Gigotti, Elisa Medde e Valentina Tanni – together with members of the Foundation and of the partnering institutions, one for each organization. For the 2023 editions they are Sara Dolfi Agostini, curator of the Paul Thorel Foundation, Antonio Carloni, vice director of the Gallerie d’Italia in Turin, and Luigi Fassi director of Artissima. Per questa edizione sono Sara Dolfi Agostini, curatrice della Fondazione Paul Thorel, Antonio Carloni, vice direttore delle Gallerie d’Italia a Torino, e Luigi Fassi direttore di Artissima.


The winners of the first edition of the Paul Thorel Prize will be announced in January 2023.


October 2022

The Paul Thorel Foundation announces the selection committee and jury for the 2023 edition of the prize

November – December 2022

The selection committee 2023 invited 12 artists to present an artistic project for the Paul Thorel Prize

January 2023

The jury announces the three winning artists

April – September 2023

The artists produce their project during the residency at Paul Thorel’s studio in Naples

October – November 2023

The Foundation presents the catalogue and the exhibition of the winning artists

Sign up for the newsletter